The Dawley House was built in 1851. Daniel & Sabina Dawley raised nine children in the home. After a 30 year career on the Mississippi, owning & working on boats, Daniel retired to became the Post Master of LeClaire. Sabina was a prominent Universalist, & citizen of early LeClaire. Sabina hosted events to make bandages for the union soldiers in the civil war here.
The home boasts its original pine floors, chandeliers, fireplaces, & stunning trim, so it is easy to transport yourself back to the mid 1800’s. Perched atop a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River, the Dawley house has a lovely side lawn to host events in the summer. The Crane & Pelican has been open here since 2009. We strive to maintain this historic gem for generations to come.
- Pictures provided by the Buffalo Bill Museum
- Pictures generously donated by the Hanson Family that lived here in the 1950’s
The Dawley house is located at:
127 2nd Street South, Le Claire, Iowa 52753
Link to Google Maps